If you are a Pennsylvania driver who is a registered patient under the state’s Medical Marijuana Program, you may have questions about what you can and cannot do. Laws around the United States vary in approaches to drugged driving, and understanding Pennsylvania’s legislation can help you avoid unnecessary legal trouble.
One of the biggest concerns that medicinal soft drug users face is whether or not they can receive a DUI for testing positive for substances like cannabis. Although there is still significant gray area to this topic, knowing where legal changes currently stand can give you an idea of what to expect if a police officer pulls you over.
Pennsylvania purchase limits and driving limits differ
According to Pennsylvania’s state legislature, qualified patients of the program may purchase up to a 30-day supply of medicinal cannabis under non-COVID timeframes. Under current COVID guidance, the state has extended the supply limit to 90 days. With that said, you may not consume that amount while driving.
Drugged driving can lead to a DUI
Under current laws, police officers may charge Pennsylvania drivers with a DUI if their blood tests positive for more than 1ng/ml of THC. Because each person’s body metabolizes cannabis differently, the consumption amount and timeframes for exceeding the legal limit vary. With that in mind, it is always best to drive sober.
With soft drug laws constantly changing, it can be hard to keep up. Undoubtedly, recently-legalized medicinal soft drugs are still in a new legal arena. Nonetheless, driving sober will always lead to the best results.